Ukiah Unified School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
The Power of Partnership, Innovation and Learning

School Desk Blog: Suicide Awareness Important Now More Than Ever

September is National Suicide Prevention Awareness Month. While suicide prevention is important to address year-round, this month provides a dedicated time to come together around a difficult topic, reach out to those affected by suicide, and raise awareness of how to connect individuals with suicidal ideation to treatment services.  At Ukiah Unified Schools, we are committed to supporting our students and families both academically and emotionally.  We recognize that all of our students and families are experiencing unique stresses and challenges due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and we want to do everything we can to provide support to keep our community healthy and safe.  

What you can do: 1. Know the risk factors that can lead to suicide. These risk factors include mood changes, poor relationships, depression, substance use, a history of trauma, major physical illness, or an experience of loss. 2. Recognize warning signs. Take note of sudden changes in behavior. Engage your child in conversations about how they are doing if something seems off. 3. Reach out for help. Knowing, supporting, and loving a young person who is struggling with their mental health can be stressful, but resources are available through your child’s school and in our community. 

According to the CDC, suicide rates have increased by 30% since 1999. With the current Covid-19 pandemic limiting important in-person contact, it is essential for us to protect our mental health and support each other as we all learn to cope with uncertainty.  It’s more important than ever that we are there for each other and take steps to prevent suicide. If you have a child at home, work with kids, or care for another young person in your family, it’s essential to check in on them and their mental health. While it’s quite normal for young people to become moody at times and struggle with self-image and peer relationships, you should seek professional help if your child shows signs of mental health issues or depression. 

If your child is having difficulties, please do not hesitate to reach out for help. Call your child’s school or email their counselor for support. Save these important contacts below for later use. 

UUSD School and Counselor Contact Information:

Calpella Elementary 707-472-5630 - Stephanie Gravatt sgravatt@uusd.net

Eagle Peak Middle School 707-472-5250 - Evelyn Ramirez eramirez@uusd.net

Frank Zeek Elementary 707-472-5100 - Stephanie Razo srazo@uusd.net

Grace Hudson Elementary 707-472-5460 - Vicente Duarte vduarte@uusd.net

Nokomis Elementary 707-472-5550 - Keenan Tyner ktyner@uusd.net

Oak Manor Elementary 707-472-5180 - Jannette Ayala jayala@uusd.net

Pomolita Middle School 707-472-5350 - Heath McNerney hmcnerney@uusd.net

South Valley High School 707-472-5150 

Jacob Bainbridge jbainbridge@uusd.net

Adrienne Bakewell abakewell@uusd.net

UISA 707-472-5906 - Alexa Moreno amoreno@mcyp.org

Ukiah High School 707-472-5750

Alicia Bainbridge abainbridge@uusd.net

Jacob Bainbridge jbainbridge@uusd.net

Adrienne Bakewell abakewell@uusd.net

Jen Julius jjulius@uusd.net

Yokayo Elementary 707-472-5690 - Amy Wyse awyse@uusd.net

 

National and Local Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Resources

Mendocino County Crisis Hotline (24 hours a day, 7 days a week):  1-855-838-0404

Mendocino County Warm Line:  707-472-2311

Mendocino County Suicide Prevention Hotline:  1-855-587-6373

National Suicide Prevention Hotline:  1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Línea directa nacional española de prevención del suicidio:  1-888-628-9454

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline website:  http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

 

Manzanita Services:  707-463-0405

(Peer Support, Wellness, Care Management & Therapeutic Services)

 

Mendocino County Youth Project:  707-463-4915

(Prevention & Intervention Services, Counseling Services)

 

Redwood Community Services:  707-472-2922

(Multiple Services: Behavioral Health, Homeless, Crisis, Substance abuse)

 

Tapestry Family Services:  707-463-3300

(Therapeutic Services, Mental Health Treatment, Foster Care)